Dos, di, der – ver iz ver? A Workshop on Yiddish Grammar

When:
First part: October 23, 10:30 a.m. PDT (1:30 p.m. EDT, 6:30 p.m. in the U.K., 7:30 p.m. in most of Europe, 8:30 p.m. in Israel).

Second part: October 24, 9 a.m. PDT (12 p.m. EDT, 5 p.m. in the U.K., 6 p.m. in most of Europe, 7 p.m. in Israel).

Katya 2-min
img

Ekaterina Kuznetsova

Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

 

About the course

A workshop on the grammar of Yiddish nouns
Yiddish enthusiasts of all levels are welcome!

Are you confused about when to use dos, di, der, and on top of it, what is it with dem? Why is the word girl in Yiddish a neuter grammatical gender? What is the function of accusative and dative cases, and why does it look like there are a million ways to make a plural form of a noun? It is easy to get frustrated when you think that there is no other way than to just memorize each word with an article and plural form.

In this two-part workshop we will study essential topics regarding Yiddish nouns. You will get a clear picture of how they behave and why. We will dig into theory and see how it helps us in practice.

Part 1. Gender and number of nouns. What are the categories and principles of gender attribution, and what are the singular and plural forms?

Part 2. Nominative, Accusative, and Dative cases. Declension of definite articles and nouns.

This workshop is for you
If you just started to learn Yiddish and want a better understanding of this topic.
If you already have studied Yiddish for some time but feel that you have a gap in grammar
If you are an advanced speaker and want a deeper understanding of Yiddish grammar
If you are a Yiddish teacher and want hacks to explain this theme to your students

Apart from work in the class, you will get homework to master the information and feedback by email from the instructor. All materials will be supplied. Each part is 90 minutes long.

Price: $65 USD for the whole workshop $40 USD for one part.
Early bird (registration before October 10th): $55/$35 USD