fbpx
Loading Events

« All Events

Kino Shmues for Intermediate and Advanced Students

January 3 @ 12:00 pm - March 7 @ 1:00 pm PST

$150

Dates:

Starts January 3d, Mondays 12:00-1:00 p.m. PST (3:00 p.m. EST, 9:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 10:00 p.m. in Israel), ends March 7th.

Tuition:

$230 all 10 weeks or $25 for a 60 minute online class. 

Early Bird (before December 20th): $180 all 10 weeks or $20 for a 60 minute online class. 

Students: $180 all 10 weeks or $20 for a 60 minute online class.

Taught by Tanya Yakovleva

She studied Comparative Literature, Classical, Slavic, Jewish, and Media Studies at the universities of Kharkiv, Regensburg, Bari, and San Diego. Tanya received her PhD in Russian and Jewish Studies from the University of Regensburg in 2019 and since then she has been teaching for YAAANA.

Description:

In this conversational course conducted entirely in Yiddish, students will discuss and talk about films and cinema. We will watch short film clips and discuss them together. We will start with Alexander Granovsky’s 1925 “Jewish Luck”, based on Sholem Aleichem’s wheeler-dealer character Menachem Mendel, starring Solomon Mikhoels. You will learn a general film vocabulary and have an understanding of the main processes and movements in the development of Yiddish Cinema. 

 

Details

Start:
January 3 @ 12:00 pm PST
End:
March 7 @ 1:00 pm PST
Cost:
$150

Organizer

YAAANA
Email:
info@yaaana.com
View Organizer Website

Venue

Zoom app
CA United States + Google Map
View Venue Website
Top