fbpx
Loading Events

« All Events

Leyenkrayz for Advanced Students

January 5 @ 12:00 pm - March 9 @ 1:00 pm PST

$150

Dates:

Starts January 5th, Wednesdays 12:00-1:00 p.m. PST (3:00 p.m. EST, 9:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 10:00 p.m. in Israel), ends March 9th.

Tuition:

$230 all 10 weeks or $25 for a 60 minute online class.

Early Bird (before December 22nd): $180 all 10 weeks or $20 for a 60 minute online class. 

Students: $180 all 10 weeks or $20 for a 60 minute online class.  

Taught by Tanya Yakovleva

She studied Comparative Literature, Classical, Slavic, Jewish, and Media Studies at the universities of Kharkiv, Regensburg, Bari, and San Diego. Tanya received her PhD in Russian and Jewish Studies from the University of Regensburg in 2019 and since then she has been teaching for YAAANA.

Description:

In this course taught entirely in Yiddish, we will read and discuss texts and biographies of Yiddish Modernists in Eastern Europe of the 1920-1930s such as Dovid Bergelson, Dovid Hofshteyn, Perets Markish, Leyb Kvitko, Isaac Bashevis Singer, Kadya Molodovsky, Rokhl Korn, and Khane Levin. Grammar to be repeated will be drawn from the texts. You will learn new literary terms and have an understanding of the main processes and movements in the development of Yiddish Modernism. 

 

Details

Start:
January 5 @ 12:00 pm PST
End:
March 9 @ 1:00 pm PST
Cost:
$150

Organizer

YAAANA
Email:
info@yaaana.com
View Organizer Website

Venue

Zoom app
CA United States + Google Map
View Venue Website
Top