Exploring Early Modern Yiddish Literature

 

When:

October 19, 11:00 a.m. PDT (2:00 p.m. EDT, 7:00 p.m. in the U.K., 8:00 p.m. in Central Europe, 9:00 p.m. in Israel).

 

 

lib
FB_IMG_1631387322419

David Shafir

David Shafir is a life-long student of Yiddish. Having spent many years among the native speakers of Yiddish in Canada and USA has helped him a lot in better understanding the language and its culture. He loves collaborating on new Yiddish-focused projects.

 

About the course

Intermediate-to-advanced level speakers are welcome to join us in the linguistic and literary trip back in time: to the world of Eastern European Jews of the first two thirds of the 19th century. Reb Nakhman's Tales, works by Dr Ettinger and Isroel Aksenfeld, and early creations by Mendele Moykher Sforim were the first modern Yiddish literature in print. We will try, via close reading of those texts, to get the feel of the everyday life of the hostages of the Pale of Settlement; of their spectrum of knowledge, beliefs, thought patterns, passions, hopes, and, of course, sense of humor. The first, free, session of this experimental group project is on October 19.

Instructor: David Shafir

Cost: First class free! (if successful we will schedule 5 more meetings)