Khanike Songs with Batsheva and Tanya

 

When:

December 2, Thursday, 12:30 p.m. PST (3:30 pm EST, 8:30 pm in the UK, 9:30 pm in most of Europe, 10:30 p.m. in Israel).

 

Khanike_FB
Batsheva (1)

Batsheva Capek

Batsheva is a Canadian folksinger and an award-winning concert artist singing in Ladino, Yiddish, Hebrew, and English. Her award-winning “Song of Remembrance” won first place in the Canadian National Competition for Holocaust Literature and has been placed in the official archives of Yad Vashem in Jerusalem. Batsheva tours under the auspices of the Institute of Southern Jewish Life and resides in Nashville with her husband, composer and producer, John Capek.

 

Tetyana Yakovleva

Tanya Yakovleva

Tetyana (Tanya) Yakovleva studied Comparative Literature, Classical, Slavic, Jewish, and Media Studies at the universities of Kharkiv, Regensburg, Bari, and San Diego. She received her PhD in Slavic and Jewish Studies from the University of Regensburg in 2019 and since then she has been teaching for YAAANA. Tanya is a certified yoga teacher (RYT 200). She is currently writing a book about Odessa 1905 in Russian and Jewish Literature.

 

About the course

In this class – the song IS the class!

We will learn all about the Khanike in Yiddish through Yiddish songs “Borukh Ateh”, “Oy ir kleyne likhtelekh”, “Drey Zikh Shoyn Dreydele". This workshop is the third session of the Sing and Learn Yiddish Course and can be taken separately.

You will discover the background and meaning of songs you may be familiar with, but learn the stories behind them. We will sing the songs with Batsheva and study the grammar with Tanya. Songs are a wonderful way to learn language, and Yiddish songs are a wonderful way to learn Yiddish.

Duration: 90 minutes.

Cost: $30 ($20 for students).

The price includes lyrics of the songs, vocabulary and grammar rules.