A Workshop on Yiddish Verbs

 

When:
First part: October 2 10:30 a.m. PDT (1:30 p.m. EDT, 6:30 p.m. in the U.K., 7:30 p.m. in most of Europe, 8:30 p.m. in Israel).

Second part: October 3, 9 a.m. PDT (12 p.m. EDT, 5 p.m. in the U.K., 6 p.m. in most of Europe, 7 p.m. in Israel). 

 

2.jpg
img

Ekaterina Kuznetsova

Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

 

About the course

 

Open the door for a better understanding of classical Yiddish literature. Verbs are probably the trickiest part of speech in Yiddish. When you know all the possibilities of Yiddish verbs you can significantly enrich your speaking and writing skills. This workshop will help you organize all the information about the verbs moving from the basics to more complicated and advanced topics.

Part 1. Infinitive, present, past, and future tense. Regular and irregular verbs. Complex verbs.
Part 2. Separable and inseparable prefixes. Participles. Aspects of verbs.

This workshop is for you
If you are learning Yiddish at any level from very beginners to intermediate and higher
If you are an advanced speaker and want a firmer grasp of Yiddish grammar
If you translate from Yiddish and want a better understanding of rare grammar constructions with verbs
If you want to write in Yiddish at a professional level
If you are a Yiddish teacher and want hacks to explain this theme to your students

There will be homework to reinforce the lessons and personal feedback via email from the instructor after each workshop. All lesson materials will be supplied.

Each part is 90 minutes long

How much: $65 USD for the whole workshop (includes learning materials and individual feedback on your homework via email) / $40 USD for one part.
Early bird (registration before September 20th): $55/$35 USD