Sovetishe froyenlider: Leyenkrayz for Advanced Students

 

When:

Starts October 20, Wednesdays 12:00 p.m. PDT (3:00 p.m. EST, 8:00 p.m. in the UK, 9:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 10:00 p.m. in Israel), ends December 22.

 

 

Froyenlider
Tetyana Yakovleva

Tanya Yakovleva

Tetyana (Tanya) Yakovleva studied Comparative Literature, Classical, Slavic, Jewish, and Media Studies at the universities of Kharkiv, Regensburg, Bari, and San Diego. She received her PhD in Slavic and Jewish Studies from the University of Regensburg in 2019 and since then she has been teaching for YAAANA. Tanya is a certified yoga teacher (RYT 200). She is currently writing a book about Odessa 1905 in Russian and Jewish Literature.

 

About the course

In this course we will discuss the Yiddish poetry of women from the Soviet Union. All texts will be selected from Ezra Korman's 1928 anthology of Yiddish women poets, “Yidishe dikhterins” and from Arn Vergelis' 1965 “Horizontn fun der haynttsaytiker Sovetisher Yidisher dikhtung.” Through close reading and translation, we will explore the writings of Anyuta Pyatigorskaya, Rive Balyasne, Lyube Tshernyak, Sonye Tutshinski, Rokhl Boymvol, Khana Levin, Dine Libkes, Shifre Kholodenko, Dvoyre Khorol, and Lyube Vaserman.

Instructor: Tanya Yakovleva

Cost:

Early Bird: each 90 minute class will cost $30 individually or $270 all 10 weeks (until September 19th).

General Admission: each 90 minute class will cost $35 individually or $300 all 10 weeks.

If you want to save money on fees, write an email to tanya@yaaana.org and send us a check to:

YAAANA

7345 Fay Ave

La Jolla, CA 92037