"Leyenkrayz" for Beginners

When:

From October 25 to November 29

Starts on Mondays at 10:00 a.m. PDT (1:00 p.m. EST, 6:00 p.m. in the UK, 7:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 8:00 p.m. in Israel), 6 sessions in total.

YAAANAGraphic1Version1
img

Ekaterina Kuznetsova

Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

 

About the course

If you want to practice reading Yiddish, learn new words and grammar rules, this class is for you. Using a reading circle format, students will meet to read and discuss contemporary topics including literature, news, or the arts. Each session features a new short text followed by a discussion and comments on vocabulary and grammar. Although the language of instruction is English, knowledge of alef-beys is a prerequisite for this course. Each class is limited to 3-8 people.

There will be homework to reinforce skills and enhance understanding of the lessons.

 

Cost: Early Bird: each 90 minute class will cost $30 individually or $160 all 6 weeks (until October 15)

General Admission: each 90 minute class will cost $35 individually or $190 all 6 weeks.