Yiddish Literature for Children

 

When:

October 26, 11:00 a.m. PDT (2:00 p.m. EDT, 7:00 p.m. in the U.K., 8:00 p.m. in Central Europe, 9:00 p.m. in Israel).

 

 

Yiddish
FB_IMG_1631387322419

David Shafir

David Shafir is a life-long student of Yiddish. Having spent many years among the native speakers of Yiddish in Canada and USA has helped him a lot in better understanding the language and its culture. He loves collaborating on new Yiddish-focused projects.

About the course

Prose and more so poetry created for children radiate age-transcending warmth and charm. In simple form they convey to the child, including the eternal child in each of us, life’s laws and human ideals. And creations by especially talented authors such as Yitskhok L. Perets, Leye K. Hofman, Leib Kvitko, Dvoyre Khorol, and many others, give us true esthetic pleasure. You are welcome to join us on October 26 for the first, free, session of readings.

Instructor: David Shafir

Cost: First class free! (if successful, we will schedule 5 more meetings)