A Crash Course on YIVO Transliteration

When: Sunday, November 28, 2021

11 a.m. PST (7 p.m. in the UK, 8 p.m. in Central Europe, 9 p.m. in Israel)

 

YIVO Transliteration
img

Ekaterina Kuznetsova

Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

 

About the course

Learn to write Yiddish with Latin letters in a free 90 minute workshop on the rules of standard YIVO transliteration. Perfect for new students and those who would like a refresher, YIVO transcription is the standard accepted throughout the whole Yiddish-speaking world. Mastering this skill will help you to communicate clearly when there is no access to a Yiddish keyboard. It will help you use dictionaries and to read transliterated text correctly.

Free class!