Utopye: leyenkrayz for Intermediate Students

 

When:

Starts October 18, Mondays 12:00 p.m. PDT (3:00 p.m. EST, 8:00 p.m. in the UK, 9:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 10:00 p.m. in Israel), ends December 20.

 

 

Edeniya 2
Tetyana Yakovleva

Tanya Yakovleva

Tetyana (Tanya) Yakovleva studied Comparative Literature, Classical, Slavic, Jewish, and Media Studies at the universities of Kharkiv, Regensburg, Bari, and San Diego. She received her PhD in Slavic and Jewish Studies from the University of Regensburg in 2019 and since then she has been teaching for YAAANA. Tanya is a certified yoga teacher (RYT 200). She is currently writing a book about Odessa 1905 in Russian and Jewish Literature.

 

About the course

This course will cover Yiddish grammar through close reading and translation of Kalmen Zingman´s “In der tsukunft-shtot Edeniya“/ “In the Future City of Edeniya” (1918). One of the few works of utopian science fiction in Yiddish literature, it depicts a vision of Edeniya, based on the Ukrainian city of Kharkiv, twenty-five years into the future. Here Edeniya embodies an ideal state for Jewish life in Diaspora where ethnic communities live side-by-side in peace and harmony in high-tech Ukraine.

Instructor: Tanya Yakovleva

Cost: Early Bird: each 90 minute class will cost $30 individually or $270 all 10 weeks (until September 19th).

General Admission: each 90 minute class will cost $35 individually or $300 all 10 weeks.

If you want to save money on fees, write an email to tanya@yaaana.org and send us a check to:

YAAANA

7345 Fay Ave

La Jolla, CA 92037