Yiddish for Beginners

When:

October 28- December 7, 2021

Starts October 28, Thursdays 10:00 a.m. PDT (1:00 p.m. EST, 6:00 p.m. in the UK, 7:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 8:00 p.m. in Israel), ends December 9 (7 sessions).

YAAANABanner2
img

Ekaterina Kuznetsova

Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

 

About the course

Start right to gain a deep, well-structured knowledge of the essentials of Yiddish grammar. In this course, you will get a strong foundation to prepare for an intermediate level. Using a variety of materials, we will learn rules, read text and do practice exercises supported by homework, to reinforce new skills. Although the language of instruction is English, knowledge of alef-beys is a prerequisite for this class. There will be 3 to 8 students in a small group.

Cost: Early Bird: each 90 minute class will cost $30 individually or $190 all 7 weeks (until October 15).

General Admission: each 90 minute class will cost $35 individually or $225 all 7 weeks.