"Yidish fun breyshis:" Yiddish for Beginners

Yiddish fun breyshes is for true beginners and requires no background in Yiddish!

Sundays, starting on September 19 

11:00 a.m. PDT (2:00 p.m. EDT, 7:00 p.m. in the U.K., 8:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 9:00 p.m. in Israel).

Untitled design (6)
YAAANA_Spring_Intensive_1-012

Teacher: Avi Fried

He has been teaching beginners Yiddish for nearly two years. He very much enjoyed welcoming newcomers to the language. He lives in Chicago, Illinois with a nice dog named Miette. Avi loves teaching Yiddish with The Simpsons - the base level of humor for class!

Course Details

The class will focus on learning to read the Yiddish alef-beys (alphabet) and will cover basic conversation, grammar, verbs, and vocabulary. We will begin with vowels, and add consonants each week , the new ones building on those learned in the previous class. By the end of the very first class, students will be able to read out loud a complete Yiddish sentence! The class class will have a very Simpsons-centric sense of humor with a "go-light-go-easy" approach to learning: 100% no judgment, no attitude, and no shaming classroom environment. In other words, a great way to get started with Yiddish!

Meeting Dates:

19 September

26 September

3 October

10 October

17 October

24 October

31 October

7 November

14 November

21 November

Tine: Sundays, 11:00 a.m. PDT (1:00 p.m. CDT, 2:00 p.m. EDT, 7:00 p.m. in the U.K., 8:00 p.m. in Central Europe, 9:00 p.m. in Israel.) 10 classes of 90 minutes each.

Cost: 10 classes for $180, early bird (if paying before September 13) or $200 after September 13.

Questions? Contact us at info@yaaana.org