Yiddish for Intermediate Learners

When:

October 27-December 8, 2021

October 27, Wednesdays 10:00 a.m. PDT (1:00 p.m. EST, 6:00 p.m. in the UK, 7:00 p.m. in most of Europe, 8:00 p.m. in Israel), ends December 8 (7 sessions).

 

YAAANABanner3
img

Ekaterina Kuznetsova

Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

 

About the course

Using written language materials, we will go deeper into Yiddish grammar and learn vocabulary for topics in history and literature. We will begin by repeating the basics such as the past, the present, and future tense, and the declination of articles and adjectives, etc. Advanced grammar aspects include complex syntax and idiomatic constructions, verbs with loshn-koydeshdike components, and more. There will be homework to practice and strengthen new skills.

Cost: Early Bird: each 90 minute class will cost $30 individually or $190 all 7 weeks (until October 15).

General Admission: each 90 minute class will cost $35 individually or $225 all 7 weeks.