Yiddish Teachers' Committee

We at YAAANA see the need to modernize Yiddish teaching. We also believe it greater structure is called for because students are often confused about which level they belong in.

The meeting of Yiddish teachers will discuss and work on two topical issues:

a) The development of methodological guidelines for different proficiency levels, a clear understanding of the competences that Yiddish students achieve after completing each level. Such guidelines will help teachers determine which topics to teach at each level and help students determine which classes to enroll in.

b) The development of a placement test, which will follow and incorporate the above-mentioned guidelines. Introducing such a test will help to make the Yiddish groups more homogeneus and will facilitate more effective learning.

Participation in the meeting is voluntary.

Date and time: October 10, 9:00 a.m. PDT (12:00 p.m. EST, 5:00 p.m. in the U.K., 6:00 p.m. in Central Europe, 7:00 p.m. in Israel) 

לאַמיר לערנען (1)