Yidn in Ale Lender: Shmues for Beginner 2 and Intermediate Students

When: Saturdays, November 13, 20, 27, December 4, 11.

12 pm Pacific (7 pm in the UK, 8 pm in Central Europe, 9 pm in Israel.

 

Shmues-for-Beginner-2
img

Ekaterina Kuznetsova

Ekaterina Kuznetsova was born in Moscow where she studied Literature, Pedagogics, and Religious Studies. In 2016, she graduated from the MA program in Yiddish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She currently lives in Berlin, where she co-founded the initiative Yiddish.Berlin – a group of artists and activists that organizes cultural events involving Yiddish literature and culture. She is a regular contributor to In Geveb journal.

 

About the course

The title of this 5-session series of Shmues comes from the classic College Yiddish study book. For many of us, it was the first text ever read in Yiddish. In the course, we will speak about several distinct places, and compare their lifestyles. Focus will be on vocabulary connected to places, directions, urban landscape, and nature. A secondary goal is to practice essential grammatical constructions like “s’iz do” and men + verb. In each lesson, we will learn new words—and repeat good old grammar—together, and then you will have conversations in pairs. You will get vocabulary handouts and useful resources in Yiddish.

Price: $75* plus event fees, for the course (5 sessions, 60 minutes each)